coat-of-arms1  govtt

psPermanent Secretary, Angela Edwards delivered the feature address at the launch.

The Culture Division of the Ministry of Community Development, Culture and the Arts launched its Mentoring by the Masters Programme at the National Museum and Art Gallery in Port of Spain on Wednesday June 22, 2016.     It is the fourth installment of this initiative, which has become one of the Ministry’s flagship programmes.

Director of the Culture Division, Ms Ingrid Ryan-Ruben welcomed all to the launch, stressing the importance of ensuring that knowledge of our cultural heritage be passed on from these masters of the artform, to the next generation.   She encouraged the mentors to, “Plant a seed, that will grow into big, strong trees.”

Culture Sector Specialist, Elize Rostant then provided an overview of the programme, saying that the Mentors are selected by a Cabinet-appointed Assessment Committee of the National Registry of Artists and Cultural Workers.

Delivering the feature address on behalf of the Minister, the Honourable Nyan Gadsby-Dolly, Permanent Secretary, Angela Edwards thanked all of the stakeholders for their work towards preserving our culture.   She told participants that they would be mentored by some of the most talented cultural entrepreneurs in Trinidad and Tobago and urged them to build on the foundation provided for them.

Special acknowledgement was also given to the Mentors from 2013, 2014 and 2015, along with the five mentors for 2016, who will pass on their knowledge and skills to aspiring artists during the two-month programme, which will culminate with an Awards ceremony in September.   

The five Mentors for Mastering by the Mentors 2016 are:

Glendon Morris – Copper Arts

Kenwyn Crichlow – Professional Development

Ravindra Nath Maharaj (Raviji) – Festival Development

Rudylynn De Four Roberts – Heritage Architecture Preservation

Stephen Derek – Carnival Arts

About the Programme

The Mentoring by the Masters programme was developed in 2012 in recognition of 50 years of Independence.   The main goal of this initiative is to facilitate the transfer of knowledge from accomplished artists and cultural workers to emerging practitioners in their respective fields.     It is also an opportunity to celebrate the achievements of these mentors for their contribution to the artistic and cultural community of Trinidad and Tobago.

From left: Mentors, Stephen Derek; Glendon Morris, Director of the Culture Division, Ingrid Ryan-Ruben; Permanent Secretary, Angela Edwards; Mentors, Ravindra Nath Maharaj (Raviji) and Rudylynn De Four Roberts.